Yesterday Bryce found out he didn’t pass the bar exam.  He was expecting it, so I think I was more shocked than him.  Surprisingly, he took it really well and is super motivated to pass the second time around.  He wasn’t fazed much  until he found it he missed it by 1 stinkin’ point.  But even with that disappointment, he was more irritated with himself than distraught.  Basically I’m trying to say that he did not act like how you would picture someone who’s just failed the bar.  And if we’re being real, he was distracted by the NBA finals at some point because the Miami Heat are his team and well, they made it all the way.  So he admitted he could have put more time into it.  Personally, I don’t know how he could have studied all day every day.  It’s not like he didn’t study during the finals.  Anyway.

You know what he said to me?  “Quitting bothers me more than failure.  Failure can be a good thing if you know how to use it.  If you break down and mope, it’s bad.  But if you use it to drive you and you learn from it then it can be good.  Failing is only the end if you let it be.”

I’ve got a pretty smart one, don’t I?  He’ll make a pretty good role model to our kids one day.  So here’s to looking at our failures in a positive way and not sweating the small stuff (even if the bar exam is big stuff). 🙂  (I really need to be more positive like this)

