Remember that vacation I took back in May/June?  Yeah, I really need to post about it before it all becomes a blur.  But that vacation kind of made me fall off the exercise bandwagon.  I was doing pretty good up until then (probably motivation to look good in a bikini).  I even lost a pound, which I promptly gained on said vacation.  While I expected to gain weight, the whole “no care in the world, do whatever whenever” attitude of vacation was hard to shake.  I went to the gym a few times, but not as much as I was before.

The guilt was weighing on my mind.  Same old same old pattern.  Then my friend Carrie started Couch to 5K (C25K) and managed to convince me to do it with her.  She’s pretty persuasive.  Have you heard of it?  It’s a program designed for people who don’t run (which is a plus in my case).  C25K trains you to run a 5k (3 miles) at the end of 9 weeks.  See here for more info.

So far it’s been ok.  Every week I wonder how I’m going to get through it and every week I just end up pushing myself harder.  Sometimes I feel like quitting, but I’m on week 4 now!  And I absolutely hate running.  But I keep going, mostly because I notice subtle differences every week.  The running part got easier as my leg muscles adjusted.  Breathing got easier (I assume because the cardio is working my heart).  But mostly I noticed that I can actually run for longer periods of time before I feel like crap.  And that is so awesome!  It’s the encouragement I need to keep on keeping on.  It’s also easier for me to do it because my sister decided to run with me and try out the program.  She keeps me accountable.  I might be more tempted to walk if she weren’t there.

Anyway, I forgot why I started this post.  But I’m suddenly left with a feeling of accomplishment.  While I’m nowhere near done, I’m pretty proud of myself.  You have no idea how many times I felt like stopping, or simply walking when I was supposed to be running.  And even though my ankles and knees are sore, or it drizzles a little, I run.

