Two words – make this.

Every so often I flip through the few cookbooks I possess, the majority of which are related to baking.  And lately, I’ve had the urge to bake with either lemon or orange zest.  It seems exotic to me and I see people do it all the time on the Food Network.  So when I flipped through the pages of my favorite (which happens to be from Bryce) and I saw a recipe for lemon poppy seed muffins, I knew I had to make it!  Here are the ingredients you’ll need:

Ingredients:

For the muffins –

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 tablespoons poppy seeds

For the icing –

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

And here are the directions!

Mix the lemon zest with the sugar in a large bowl with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of the lemon is strong… (FYI: this was extremely fun!)

Then, whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the sour cream, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice, and melted butter together until well blended.  Don’t be like me and realize the recipe called for melted and cooled butter at this point.  It’s not fun to wait once you get started.  And I can only imagine I have no picture of this step because I was frustrated.

The next step is to pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend.  Don’t worry about being thorough – a few lumps are better than overmixing the batter.

Stir in the poppy seeds…

And divide the batter evenly among your muffin pan!

Bake for 18-20 minutes at 400 degrees F, or until the tops are golden and a thin knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Then transfer to a rack.  Here you have to wait very patiently for them to cool completely before icing them.

While you wait… have yourself a coke with the leftover parts of the lemon! 🙂

Here’s how to make the icing:

Put the confectioners’ sugar in a small bowl and add about 1-1/2 tablespoons of the lemon juice.  Stir with a spoon to moisten the sugar, then add enough additional lemon juice, a dribble at a time, to get an icing that is thin enough to drizzle from the tip of the spoon.  I had a bit of trouble here.  Well, not really trouble per se, but I may have added too much lemon juice to get the right consistency, so if you find yourself in that situation, I would add a little water.  Otherwise, the lemon will be too overpowering; especially combined with the lemon in the muffin itself.  Phew.

After you get a good consistency, just drizzle lines of icing over the tops of the muffins, or coat them entirely.  If you’re like me, your drizzles won’t be pretty at all and your mom will take over (which was probably for the best!).  Anyway, here’s the final product.

 

Yum!  The sour cream gives it a surprisingly soft and moist inside.  Make it.  I promise you’ll love it.

