This morning sucked.

Monday mornings are bad anyway because it’s the first day back to work after the weekend, right?  Well, I had a horrible morning.  First off, I made pumpkin cheesecake on Sunday night to bring to work.  It needed to cool a little before putting it in the fridge.  I wanted to sleep because it was around 10 p.m., so I kindly asked my mom if she would take care of it.  She would be up late anyway because she has a hard time sleeping.  So I took a shower and went to bed thinking my mom had everything under control.  Come to find the next morning she left the cheesecake cooling out all night.  Apparently she didn’t realize that cheesecake IS NOT LIKE REGULAR FOOD where it needs to be cooled before refrigerating.  So when it wasn’t cooled completely by 3 a.m. when she went to bed, she put a strainer over the top and LEFT IT OUT.  ALL NIGHT.  Needless to say I was a little upset.  I wasn’t thinking correctly and took the cheesecake with me anyway.  But we all know it’s not edible.  I took it knowing deep down that it probably shouldn’t be eaten.  SO.  The cheesecake that was supposed to be a nice treat for everyone was a waste.  Waste of money, time, and ingredients.  But the thing that gets me the most is that nobody gets to enjoy it.  Including me!  (I was so looking forward to eating it…)

On top of that, it was pouring.  So stupid me had the heavy cheesecake in one hand, my bag slipping off my shoulder, and a wobbly umbrella.  I made a mad dash to the car, and threw everything in the backseat, and even managed to drop my car keys.  I’m so talented.  That’s not even the best part.  Half way through my drive, I realized my parking pass was in the OTHER car.  And between my sister and I, we didn’t have enough money to pay for parking (which is sadly only $4).  Her class starts at 7:30 so we were in a rush because I now needed to stop at the bank.  Yay.

Well, we got there in time.  But it doesn’t stop there.  As I reached down to take my plastic Starbucks water cup out of the holder in the car, I realized I hadn’t tightened the lid all the way.  So every time the cup tipped, some water leaked out.  Yeah.

This next part is really the funniest.  I lugged the darn cheesecake to the office with the same situation of my bag slipping off my shoulder.  And I had my water in my other hand.  As I walked under the trees, I thought to myself, “this is like the WORST morning ever.”  Right as that thought crossed my mind, a droplet from the trees above fell on my cup and splashed water in my face.  It was as if the world was telling me to shove it.  You have no idea how badly I wanted to scream.  I wanted to throw a tantrum.  Like a little child.  But I made it in.

The whole morning was just one thing after another.  I probably would have been ok if it had just been the cheesecake incident.  But not having my parking pass really ticked me off.  It pushed me over the edge and into a dark precipice.  It’s times like these where I wish I was stronger.  I wish I could be one of those people who shouts back at the world to shove it back and then pick myself up.  But I’m not.  I sulk.  I tear up.  And I’m pretty sure I get all red in the face.  Just thinking about the incident(s) can make me tear up and get all huffy again.

What’s worse is I yelled at both my mom and sister in one morning.  Not entirely because I’m mad at them, but because I’m mad at myself.  I could have prevented the situation.  I should have told my mom to put the cheesecake in the fridge even if it wasn’t cooled. And I should have checked that the parking pass was in the car before I left. Live and learn I suppose.

Have you ever had a morning like this?  I hope not.  But if you have, how did you handle it?

