After such a busy Monday you would have figured I’d have rested on Tuesday.  You know, because it’s a vacation after all.  But nope.  We baked!  Like… all day!  And it was SO worth it.  We made…

Yum!

You start by sifting together these dry ingredients (flour, wheat flour, salt, baking soda).  Let me just say this.  Bryce has a teeny tiny sifter.  You get what I’m saying?

Then mush up 3 very ripe bananas.  It helps to cut them into small pieces.  I am not speaking from experience.  Ahem.

Oh and don’t forget to combine all your wet ingredients + sugar (vegetable shortening, butter, sugar, eggs).  Which I forgot to take a picture of.  Otherwise you’ll have nothing to add the bananas too!  Ignore that the bananas look like puke and keep in mind that it’ll taste delicious.

After mixing the bananas in well, add the dry ingredients in slowly and mix until smooth and creamy!  After that, I used a tablespoon to scoop out little dollops onto the baking tray and then baked for about 10 minutes on 350 degrees.

Curious how they looked?  Here!

Mmmm… I can smell them baking all over again.  Right about now is where you’ll need some willpower to NOT eat these hot out of the oven.  Because we’re going to make this next:

This salty peanut butter filling is so easy to make it should be illegal.  Now that I know just how easy it is, I might make it quite often.  You really only need 3 ingredients, unless you like pecans (which I don’t so I didn’t include the nuts).  Here we go!

First you combine the peanut butter and unsalted butter until nice and creamy.  Without eating any.  And then you add confectioner’s sugar!

Once that’s all combined, you can either use a spoon to scoop onto the whoopies to make a sandwich OR use a pastry bag like me!

I bought this at Williams Sonoma and I LOVE it.

Here’s what it looks like filled with peanut butter!

And then… oh then you can squeeze the filling on so much easier!  Plus it’s just so much fun.  Observe.

The final product?

Delicious.  Heavenly.  I can’t even describe.  Want a closer look?

And this is what it looked like after I bit into it.

Both recipes are courtesy my brand new Whoopie Pies cookbook!

Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell are awesome.

Things I’ve learned though?  I’ve come to find that I don’t enjoy baking with Bryce as much as I should.  He gets in my way and only wants to do the fun stuff.  Plus he put one of the cookies sideways on the baking tray and it drove me nuts!  However, I appreciate his agreeableness in letting me go to his house to bake all day as well as making a last minute stop at Foodland to buy the butter I forgot at my house and some eggs. 🙂

Make these when you get a chance.  They’re incredibly easy and delicious!

P.S. – If you’re wondering why I didn’t put the recipes, I figured the post would be way too long so I’m going to put them up later.

