It’s a weird feeling not being in school.  Especially because this is my first summer without classes in four years (sorry Marly!  I feel your pain).

There’s one class in particular that I’m missing.  I think about it often, not because I learned so much, but because it was so different and tons of fun at the same time.

The class?

Egyptian Hieroglyphs.

As I’ve said before, I can read them.  Isn’t that just the coolest thing?  Ever since I can remember, I’ve had a fascination with Egypt.  I loved watching cartoons that had Egypt things (ie. Scooby Doo).  I dreamed of traveling to see the Pyramids and the wonderful museums.  And I loved the history.  (Not that I knew much of it)

And a class where you can learn to read hieroglyphs?  Way cool.  I ended up taking it for 3 semesters.  And I loved it.  One of the best experiences I’ve ever had.  I hope to continue to learn more and gain a deeper understanding of the language.  Which is why I kept all my texts and notes!

Let me teach you something :).

These hieroglyphs are ankh, wedja, seneb.  Put together they form an Egyptian phrase meaning “life, prosperity, health”.  It’s an epithetic formula that is found after the name of many pharaohs.  So there you go.  Learn something new every day :).  I like it because it’s also like you’re wishing for someone’s well-being and that they’ll be prosperous and live a good life.

Also as a result of taking the class, I’ve broadened my interest in Egyptian looking jewelry.  Mostly just with the ankh symbol because that by itself is live or life.

If you’re interested and the tiniest bit curious, Amazon has a pretty good selection.  Some of my favorites?

This Eye of Horus pendant with lapis lazuli and mother of pearl is so shiny!

This Winged Isis Pendant is gorgeous.  And rustic.  And lovely.

I haven’t been able to find an ankh that I absolutely love.  I want it to look old, but new.  And not too shiny.  The closet thing I’ve found is this.

And this is way too big.  And I want a necklace.  But I like this one because of the symbols.

I don’t actually know many people who have a fascination with Egypt.  Do any of you?

