Hana.  This one word gives me mixed feelings.  Remember when I said I had the road to Hana to look forward to?  What in the world was I thinking?

We were warned about the drive.  Of course we were.  I heard there were many turns and that you should probably pack some food and drinks to take along with you since it was a 3 hour drive.  Yes you read that correctly.  3 hours!  But we survived.  And that’s the main thing.  I guess.

We bought a cooler at Foodland and got food and drinks.  But when we got back to the hotel we realized we needed blue ice.  And we weren’t about to leave the hotel just for blue ice.  Luckily, I had a brilliant idea.  Why not put some of the water bottles in the freezer and use them as ice packs??  So that’s what we did.  I think we froze about 5 and believe me when I say we stuffed that cooler real good.  We took with us 2 water bottles, 2 juices, a humongous sandwich, cookies, and chips.  Wanna know something funny?  The only things we ended up using were the water and chips.

So the drive.  We left the hotel around 10:50 a.m.  Twenty minutes later than I had wanted to leave.  I drove.  Since we stayed in Lahaina, we had to drive quite a bit to even get to Hana Highway.  See Lahaina?  It’s all the way by the fish tail.  And Hana?  All the way… across the island.  Who’s genius idea was it to drive there?  Mine.  Yeah.

About an hour into the drive, we finally reached the narrow winding road that is so famous.  Bryce was operating the GPS on his phone and he says to me, “It says you have 4 miles to drive and it’s going to take you 45 minutes.”  I immediately shouted “WHAT?” to him and asked if he was ok in the head.  Well not really the last part, but that would have been funny.

My first thoughts upon reaching the winding road was that it wasn’t THAT bad.  I was so, so wrong.  So very wrong.  Ok, I’m sure you get it.  The point is, by 2 hours I was almost done for.  My butt was numb in places I never felt before.  My shoulders were sore from being upright for so long.  My eyes were irritated because we were going in and out of shadows.  And.  I hadn’t seen any of the beautiful beaches I read about!  We drove past several waterfalls though, deciding to look at them on the way back.

Finally, we reached the Hana Lava Tube after driving for 2 hours and 40 minutes.  The spooky thing was we turned off the highway onto a side street that had no indication whatsoever that the lava tube was even there.  And we were going in and out of reception.  So I kept telling Bryce that he was leading us to our doom.  I’m funny like that :-P.  Don’t think I wasn’t really thinking about it though!  Once we got there, I calmed down a bit.  Until I realized that I really had to pee and there were only port-a-potties.  Yuck and yuck.  I get squeamish thinking about those.  Bryce had to use the bathroom too and he kindly shouted to me that he could see a giant heap of you-know-what.

The lady there was really nice.  Although, I think Bryce will never forgive her for giving us bad directions.  She gave us these heavy duty flashlights and sent us on our merry way.  That’s it, no guide like I was expecting.  This panicked me a bit.  Especially because she said we were lucky that there was nobody else here and we’d have the lava tube all to ourselves.  So we’d be alone with just flashlights in a dark hole in the ground.  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  Who’s bright idea was this?  Mine again.  Yep.  Me.  Yay.  But Bryce was excited about this too.  So there.

Here’s a picture to give you an idea of what the outside of the lava tube looks like.

It’s really pretty outside.  And bright.

This is an ominous skull we saw right before we headed down.  A sign of things to come?

Here’s Bryce descending into darkness.  He shouted, “Hurry up!  Don’t leave me alone down here!” since I was apparently taking too long snapping pictures.  This was only the beginning of him freaking out (though he claims he wasn’t freaking out).

Where we came from.

I thought it was neat that there was grass growing there.  Just by the entrance though, where sunlight could still touch them.

The walls of the lava tube.  Shimmery.

A look in the cave.

First aid kit.  Wait what?  Do we need that?  Spooky.

Here’s a rock that looked like a dinosaur egg to me, which is what I said to Bryce, which freaked him out even more.

And here’s the dinosaur’s nest of eggs.  I then said, “I wonder where the mama is” and Bryce told me to shut up.  Hehehehe hahahaha hohohoho.

An unreachable opening.  I climbed on a mini rock hill to take this picture.  The breeze was refreshing.

We had to duck under this next part.  The sign told us to please not hit the surface.  What about my head?

Stalactites.  These are formed by minerals.

To give you an idea of how dark it was.  In order for Bryce to get this shot, he had to shine the super heavy duty flashlight in my face.  The flashlight that the lady told us NOT to shine in our eyes.

There was water that dripped on us every so often.  Here’s proof!

He’s immensely relieved that we survived.  Remember when I said he’ll never forgive the lady for giving us bad directions?  Well, she told us when we get to the yellow rope to turn left and come back.  We turned left and walked into a dead end.  Bryce panicked and literally said oh my god at least 5 times.  I told him to calm down and why don’t we just turn around and go back the way we came.

I’m sort of glad too :-P.

After we got out, we went through the red ti leaf maze that they have there.  It’s not much of a maze, but it was fun.  Except when I walked into a spider web.  EW.

Somehow, we ended up on the outside of the maze.  Technically I think that means we cheated.

So that was Hana.  After we finished the maze, we weren’t that hungry so we didn’t sit down to eat like we had planned to.  We tried to go to Hana but I turned around since I wasn’t entirely sure where we were going because the GPS decided to crap out on us and we still had at least another 2 hour and 40 minute drive.  If we went into town, who knows how much longer we would have been out.

The drive back wasn’t as bad as the drive there.  At least for me.  Bryce on the other hand kept telling me to slow down because me going 15 mph was TOO fast for him.  I told him I felt better if I went 15 mph.  And I was driving.  That ultimately made me more important because the driver needs to feel good.  Victory was bittersweet.

On the way back, we stopped at 2 waterfalls.  Here’s the first one.  It was at this stop that Bryce seemed to have lost my phone.  He made me turn around on that narrow road in order to go back to the waterfall to look if it fell out of the car.  If you’ve driven on this road, you know it’s no easy task to turn around.  But I managed.  And I kept asking him if he really looked everywhere and under the seat especially.  He kept saying he did.  Turns out the phone didn’t fall out of the car.  I had to get out of the car and reach under his seat because, wouldn’t you know, my phone was under the seat after all.  Boy was I mad.  But since we had to commiserate together for another hour or so my anger dissipated pretty quickly.

Here we are in front of the second one.

And in case you were wondering, here’s a view from Hana Highway.  It’s really pretty actually.  If you can manage to take your mind off the queasiness.

Once we got home, we actually took a short nap before heading to the pool and jacuzzi.  The jacuzzi was heavenly.  After that, we made dinner and watched a movie.  It was a nice ending to the day.

