The aquarium.

After we got settled and I unpacked (am I the only one who unpacks at a hotel?) we headed out to the aquarium.  Actually it’s called the Maui Ocean Center, but aquarium is way shorter.  This was what Bryce was looking forward to and I wanted him to have a great time so I asked if he wanted to get the listening device that provides all the information for each display.  So we got it (for an extra $4).  He ended up using it about 3 or 4 times.  He was actually so focused and excited about taking pictures of all kinds of things that he didn’t want to listen to the audio device.  It’s a good thing it was only $4.

So here are some pictures from the aquarium (taken with my DSLR):

It amazes me how clear the pictures are.  This is one of the reasons I’m posting the next few.  They just turned out so nice!

Love the colors here.

I thought this sea horse thing was cute.

Can you see the fish??

How about this one?

Another really clear picture.

Garden Eels.  Aren’t they weird looking things?

Believe it or not this is aquarium related, as it was taken there!  This was near a sign that said “Turtle x-ing”.  I think it’s a really nice macro shot :).


Speaking of turtles… here’s one that said hello!

I like this picture a lot.  I know I’ve said this a lot, but it’s a really clear shot.  Keep in mind the low lighting I was in!  I’m super amazed at how my pictures turned out.

These reminded me of summer on the beach.  Don’t they look like lined up umbrellas?

Here’s Bryce.  He’s happy to be there :).  Notice his shirt says “Don’t play with your food” with a picture of a killer whale playing with a penguin?  Isn’t that so fitting for the aquarium?

A nice lady kindly agreed to snap a photo of us.

We saw a sting ray above us and it was smiling.  See?

A final shot by the fountain.  I really like this picture.  Except my hair is blowing into my face.

I wish I could say it was over, but I have some more pictures to show you!

After walking through the entire aquarium, we spent at least half an hour in the gift shop. I know, it’s hard to imagine.  But we like shopping for little gifts, and Bryce has a little niece and a little nephew.  We spoil them.  Anyway, this is something I thought was neat but I would never buy.

These are little crystal (or glass- I forget) figurines.  They were tinier than my pinky finger!

Here’s an up close shot.  They’re cute, but why would you get something that small?  I would lose mine within a week.  Seriously.

The final picture needs a little introduction.  If you’ve never been to the aquarium gift shop, there is a little cave in the back with all the toys for kids.  The cave holds all the gift shops glow in the dark items.  Bryce pointed out to me that I was so short I could stand perfectly straight under the arch while he had to bend in order to be seen.  So.  Here’s a picture to show you what I’m talking about.

See me?  I’m standing straight.  And see Bryce?  He’s bending.  Otherwise his head wouldn’t be visible.  Thank you for pointing that out to me.  Oh and the sales person who took the picture?  She thought it was hilarious.  Sigh.

All in all, we had a really fun time though.  After that, we managed to find a Foodland near the hotel and stocked up on supplies.  Since we were planning on driving to Hana the next day, we got some food to take with us for the long (and I mean LONG) drive.  We also had to purchase a cooler to hold all the food and drinks.  More on that later!

