Easter started out like it always does this year.  My mom made breakfast and woke us up around 9:30.  I was extremely tired but she doesn’t stop calling your name until you come out to eat.  Bryce had some trouble waking up (which is normal) so I went out without him.  Breakfast was delicious and eventually he came out.

After breakfast he went back to sleep and didn’t wake up until about 1:00.  What was I doing while he slept?  Not much actually.  Watched a little TV- nothing good was on.  Played around on the computer.  That kept me occupied for a while since Facebook has plenty of games.  But I was bored.  Plain and simple.

Ironically, when he woke up nothing much changed.  He was just about to get out of bed to shower when his phone rang.  It was my mom.  My mom?  Why would she be calling him and not me?  Wasn’t she at home?  By the time he went to answer she hung up.  Turns out she called my phone but it was on vibrate.  Whoops.

Then the house phone rang.  My sister comes with the phone saying my mom wanted to talk to me.  What happened next was a big surprise.  It wasn’t my mom.  It was Home Depot calling to let me know my mom had slipped and they called an ambulance to take her to the emergency room and would I please come to pick up the car.  Um excuse me what?  I was in shock.  I didn’t even know she left the house!

So Bryce and I headed down to Home Depot (Iwilei).  Who knew they were even open?  Sheesh.  I drove around the parking lot and somehow managed to park near our car.  But I headed into the store to check if she had left her bag or the keys behind.  They said no and I was glad I brought the spare.  I almost walked out when I realized they didn’t even tell me which hospital she went to.  I SHOULD have asked if she slipped in the store or outside and if they filed a report.  Darn.  Now I’m not sure if we can claim liability.

When we got home my dad called the hospital and told him she hadn’t been looked at yet so they’d call us when she was ready to go home.  We waited for about an hour and a half before I decided I’d just drive down there with Bryce and wait with her.  I wouldn’t want to be in a hospital myself.  And I didn’t know the full extent of her injuries.  We found out she broke her wrist.  I was actually worried about her back because she’s already been going through physical therapy for it.  Luckily, the only injury she had was the broken wrist.  And it’s her left hand, so she can still write.  You’ll remember this is Easter though, so she wasn’t able to get her pain med prescription filled since stores were closed.  They also managed to lose her wedding rings somewhere.  They had to take them off since her fingers were all swollen.  I’m still not sure if they found them.

She got her wrist cast on Monday and found out she needs surgery.  The surgery is today.  My mom is so funny though, the first thing she said to me was, “I got to ride in an ambulance!”  Goodness.  And she had to cut her hair on Tuesday because it was getting in the way of her sling.  Her hair is now above her shoulders, and I’ve never seen it so short!

So my thoughts are at home and I’m hoping for a smooth surgery and a quick recovery.

