I recently read a discussion about what are people’s favorite Disney movies.  I thought that was a great question, though hard for me to answer.  I grew up watching Disney movies.  And who didn’t?  Except kids these days.  I find that most of them don’t know the classics.  They know the more recent ones like Up (which I loved) and Hannah Montana (bleh -_-).  What about The Lion King or Snow White or Beauty and the Beast?  Nada.  So I’ve decided to list a few of my favorites, and in no particular order.

  • Sleeping Beauty: I loved the faeries and the humor they added to the movie.  And since we’ve already established that I’m a hopeless romantic, of course I love that the prince awakens her with a kiss.  And it was a delicate kiss.

  • Aladdin: Jasmine was one of my favorite Disney Princesses because she was different.  She was feisty and although graceful and beautiful, did not act like any other princess I’d seen before.  Plus it was exotic- I mean she had a pet tiger and who didn’t love Abu.

  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarves: My sister and I definitely watched this one too many times.  Do you remember that scene where she cleans the whole house with the animals?  Well, we always had to watch that while cleaning our own room and sing along.  Even if we didn’t watch the whole movie, we’d fast-forward to that part JUST to clean.

  • The Great Mouse Detective:  This was definitely always fun to watch.  And although it made me hate rats, I loved it for all the other elements.  Perhaps I may like mystery novels.  But Basil was kooky and yet surprisingly knowledgeable.  I thought of this movie often while watching Sherlock Holmes.

  • Bedknobs and Broomsticks: Didn’t see that one coming did you?  I’ve got a few surprises up my sleeve.  I don’t even know why I love this movie but I do!  I would sit on my bed and pretend I could do what they did (even though I didn’t have bedknobs :().  It’s amazing what kids can imagine.

  • The Rescuers AND The Rescuers Down Under:  Bianca and Bernard were adorable.  I always love seeing a movie with a perspective of an animal (who in this case happens to be super tiny!) in a human’s world.  The scene of everyone gathering for their Rescue Aid Society (I know, I’m dorky) meeting and getting there was always fascinating to me.  As well as the scene where Bernard proposes to Bianca in a restaurant located conveniently above a real human restaurant.

  • Mary Poppins: This movie made me wish I was magical and that I could take a spoonful of sugar to help MY medicine go down.  One of my favorite parts was the one with magical chalk.  Was it chalk?  I’m getting old I forget these things.  By the way, did you know that supercalifragilisticexpialidocious is a word on dictionary.com?

su·per·cal·i·frag·i·lis·tic·ex·pi·al·i·do·cious

[soo-per-kal-uh-fraj-uh-lis-tik-ek-spee-al-i-doh-shuhs]

–adjective

(used as a nonsense word by children to express approval or to represent the longest word in English.)
  • The Fox and the Hound: I cry just about every time I see this movie.  But I love how it shows Tod (the fox) and Copper (the hound) become friends.  I hate when they become enemies because they’re supposed to be.

  • Mulan:  If not for the storyline, I LOVE the songs.  Especially “Let’s Get Down to Business”.  Gets stuck in my head every time!

Aside from all those listed, of course there are the classic classics.  Like, The Lion King, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Pinocchio, and 101 Dalmations.  I’m not too fond of any sequels that have been made.

Wanna know what my ultimate favorite movie was as a baby?  (According to my parents).  Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.  My dad said he watched it so many times that he knew all the lines by heart.  And I do remember loving it when I was older also, but I’m not sure if it’s a Disney movie, so it’s not on my list.

My favorite Disney character would be Winnie the Pooh hands down.  He’s just so lovable and funny and cuddly.  Can’t you just hear him say, “Oh bother”?  And even though he was a little dumb, it was a cute dumb.

What are you favorites?  I’m curious to know. 🙂

