I hate being the “bigger person” in a relationship.  It sucks.  It involves putting aside your own wants and not being selfish when your significant other has more important things to do than be with you.  (I know right?  More important things than me?  Hard to imagine.)

Bryce and I have been together for 4 years today – which I find kind of monumental.  We were supposed to eat lunch together so I would at least see him (however brief that moment would be), but he has a big paper due tomorrow.  He’s in law school so lately I haven’t seen him much.  Oh there are the few weekend blips, but nothing comes close to seeing him almost every day.  And law school means a lot to him, and we’ve all heard how hard it is.  So I decided to be the “bigger person”.  I told him we didn’t need to have lunch together so he wouldn’t need to take time and focus away from his assignment.  Lunch wouldn’t have been anything fancy anyways – just something from Campus Center like our normal Friday lunches.

My logical reasoning (to make me feel better) was that next week would be spring break and we could see each other more then.  And he really appreciated it.  I could tell he had wanted to eat lunch with me also, but he knew he’d need that extra time.  I was already promised a dinner at the Cheesecake Factory tomorrow night anyway so I’m using that to console myself today :).  I LOVE cheesecake and I”m looking forward to it immensely.

So here’s to being the bigger person.  Even though I’m a little sad about no lunch, I feel good about myself.  I feel like I did the right thing.  I didn’t act selfishly and I didn’t put pressure on him or make him feel bad.  Kudos to me! 😀  Sure I may still whine, but on the inside I feel good.

And to Bryce (even though you probably won’t read this) I want to say thank you to for putting up with me these past 4 years.  It’s not always easy (especially when I’m super hungry), but I appreciate it :).  You make me feel beautiful, you’re always there to support me, to listen to me, to comfort and console me, to humor me, to be silly with me, and to love me.  You’ll never know how much it means to me.  Love you much <3.

Happy Anniversary ♥

